Winners of the 2014 Zayed Future Energy Prize announced

Taylor Scott International News

Winners of the 2014 Zayed Future Energy Prize announced (Wam) / 20 January 2014 The Zayed Future Energy Prize honoured 9 winners for their achievements and excellence in advancing renewable energy and sustainability worldwide. General Shaikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, reaffirmed on Monday that under the leadership of the President, His Highness Shaikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, sustainable development has been placed at the core of the national strategy. In the spirit of safeguarding the nation and its people, the government’s international collaborations are aimed at securing peace and prosperity for all humankind. His remarks were made at the 2014 Zayed Future Energy Prize awards ceremony, held at the Emirates Palace on Monday. Marking the sixth year, the Zayed Future Energy Prize honoured nine winners for their outstanding achievements and excellence in advancing renewable energy and sustainability worldwide. The winners, across five categories, are ABB, Abellon CleanEnergy, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems, battery pioneer Wang Chuanfu and five high schools from around the world. General Shaikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan emphasised that the Zayed Future Energy Prize underscores the UAE’s commitment to address the global energy and climate challenges; adding “through the Prize, we are not only recognising tremendous achievement in renewable energy and sustainability, but also funding the organisations, schools and individuals committed to sustainable development among communities around the world.” He added: “This is exactly what the Zayed Future Energy Prize set out to do through honouring the legacy that the late Shaikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, God rest his soul, instilled in us.” The annual US$4 million prize, established by the UAE government, recognises companies, organisations, schools and individuals across the world that have made significant contributions to the future of renewable energy and sustainability. The prize is awarded in five distinct categories: Large Corporation, Lifetime Achievement, Small and Medium Enterprise (SME), Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) and the Global High Schools Prize. In his opening remarks, Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, Director-General of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, welcomed General Shaikh Mohammed bin Zayed al Nahyan; thanking him for his direction and support which have been “instrumental and the leading force behind its success.” “More than ever, the world needs innovators, technologies and initiatives that can address our pressing energy challenges,” said Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber. “Our wise leadership established this Prize in honour of our late founding father, Shaikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, may God rest his soul. Now in its sixth year, the Prize has created a strong group of alumni who continue to champion breakthrough ideas, technologies and programs,” added Dr Al Jaber. “The collective efforts of our winners and finalists are positively impacting communities around the world. Today, alumni of the Prize are delivering access to energy and water to millions, championing the deployment of renewable energy and are creating job and education opportunities.” The Global High Schools Prize category – in its second year – was launched to recognise and encourage young people to incorporate renewable energy and sustainability into their schools. Five schools from five regions were each awarded US$100,000 for their proposed sustainability projects. The five winners are New York-based Bronx Design & Construction Academy from the Americas region; Gheorghe Rosca Codreanu National College in Romania representing Europe; Nkhata Bay School Authority in Malawi for Africa; Kalkeri Sangeet Vidyalaya in India for the Asia region; and Tonga High School representing Oceania. “This year, we saw a record number of Global High School submissions. It is inspiring to see the youth of today participate in such large numbers. It is a strong indication of their demand for a more sustainable future,” continued Dr Al Jaber. An annual award, the prize is managed by Masdar, on behalf of the Abu Dhabi government and seeks to award achievements and innovation in the fields of renewable energy and sustainability, as well as to educate and inspire future generations. For more news from Khaleej Times, follow us on Facebook at , and on Twitter at @khaleejtimes Continue reading →

The post Winners of the 2014 Zayed Future Energy Prize announced appeared first on Taylor Scott International.

Taylor Scott International

Taylor Scott International, Taylor Scott

Comments are closed.